Mel's Filk

Mel Tatum's Filk Lyrics

Reach For the Stars October 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — melissaltatum @ 3:44 am

Reach For the Stars
by Mel Tatum
tto: Boy From New York City

note: tied for 3d place in 2009 OVFF Songwriting Competition

DA’s waiting, stalker chickie
Time to decide if you’re pleading guilty
I’m your lawyer, stalker chickie
It’s time you told me the whole story

Name is secret
Okay, Brad Pitt
He’s gonna leave his wife and all those kids
And there is Ben
he married Jen
But I know he’s really, truly in love with me
Reeeaaach, oh I reeaacch for the stars
They own my heart

I’m your lawyer, stalker chickie
You need to tell me the whole story

And Matt Damon
Private Ryan
One look from him my heart goes swoony-sigh
And Tom Hanks
well, I’ll be frank
His smile it oh, my, god, it turns my crank
Reeeaaach, oh I reeaacch for the stars
They own my heart

Ev’ry time I’m in their presence,
My heart goes pitter-pat
Just like a hound dog on a scent
I follow and take photographs

Oh my god you stalker chickie
they’ll lock you up and toss the key

Then I was served
with that order
The one that said to stay away or else
It’s the wives
It’s not my guys
Do you think I’ll get a chance to say goodbye?
Reeeaaach, oh I reeaacch for the stars
They own my heart

Listen to me, stalker chickie
You’re a weirdo, crazy, loony
Hear me tell you stalker chickie
Better hope the court shows mercy

