Mel's Filk

Mel Tatum's Filk Lyrics

My Star October 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — melissaltatum @ 3:42 am

My Star
by Mel Tatum
tto: Flowers on the Wall

This eternal life, it is so different than I guessed
Nights are long, just endless stretches of loneliness
So to answer you, it’s not a life I recommend
I know that’s not what you expect, but I cannot pretend

Countin’ hours til I die
endless stars up in the sky
of but one star do I dream
that’s the one forbidden me
as the sun arrives, I slink away in secrecy
and that’s my life, for eternity

Tonight’s the same as any night, I crawl out of my lair
Then I hunt and then I feed and then I try to care
I wander ‘round from town to town, but they are all the same
At times I wonder whether I should even learn their names

Countin’ hours til I die
endless stars up in the sky
of but one star do I dream
that’s the one forbidden me
as the sun arrives, I slink away in secrecy
and that’s my life, for eternity

Well I must go, the fingers of the dawn reach for the sky
but I long for one more glimpse of sun before I die
God, I want to feel its rays caress my bloodless face
I hear it calling, so I stay here wrapped in its embrace

Countin’ minutes til I die
favorite star up in the sky
and no longer do I dream
this will be the end of me
as the sun arrives, I close my eyes, and feel its rays
and that’s the way, I greet the day

yes that’s the way, I greet the day

