Mel's Filk

Mel Tatum's Filk Lyrics

Nothing New July 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — melissaltatum @ 10:23 am

Nothing New
lyrics by Mel Tatum
tto:  Cat’s in the Cradle

A song arrived just the other day
It came to my brain in the usual way
and there’s a phrase to snatch, a bar to save
I sat down and began to play
it was building ‘fore I knew it, and as it grew
I said, “Shit you’re really nothing new. Crap, I’ve written nothing new.”

I’ve got cats a-blazin’ and an elf to court
Argo’s pissed off and we’re banned from the port
Forty-seven verses and there’s no end
Guess I’ve got to start again
Shit, I’ve got to start again

The song called me just the other day
it said, “you can do this, try this turn of phrase
So I gave it a whirl but it’s still cliched
I’ve got some work to do,” I said with dismay.
So I stomped away, with a snarl and a glare
Hissed, “you are nothing new. Still. Shit, you’re still nothing new.”

I’ve got cats a-blazin’ and an elf to court
Argo’s pissed off and we’re banned from the port
Forty-seven verses and there’s no end
Guess I’ve got to start again Shit, I’ve got to start again

Well, it haunted a dream just the other day
So lovely a tune, I just had to play
Song, I’m proud of you, I think you’re right this time
Tears filled my eyes, cuz it sounded just fine
As I played it again, it said “pleased to meet thee
I’m Legolas. Mary sings of me.”

I’ve got cats a-blazin’ and an elf to court
Argo’s pissed off and we’re banned from the port
Forty-seven verses and there’s no end
Guess I’ve got to start again Shit, I’ve got to start again

I’d long given up and put the song away
when it popped up again like a ghost from the grave
It said, “It’s been awhile could be now’s the time”
Then it spun a tale that captured my mind
You see, there’s a train and a boat and a bus with some kids
And when I asked where it started, he said
With the Easthill Mining Crew
And as I shook my head, it occurred to me,
Shit, still nothing new. My song was nothing new.

I’ve got cats a-blazin’ and an elf to court
Argo’s pissed off and we’re banned from the port
Forty-seven verses and there’s no end
Guess I’ve got to start again
Shit, I’ve got to start again

